| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions. Connect your Gmail, DriveDropbox, and Slack accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize all your file attachments. Learn more and claim your free account.

View
 

FrontPage

Page history last edited by bmoon@... 10 years, 5 months ago

CampYA 2009

 

CampYA is for teen librarians, staff, students, and anyone interested in sharing with and learning from a community of professional peers. As with most "unconferences," participants at CampYA are expected to share their work, skills, or knowledge as active participants. CampYA is a participatory user-generated "unconference" focusing on services to teens. In the tradition of other unconferences, the content of the sessions is determined and managed by attendees. Sessions may include (but are not limited to): demonstrations, how-to workshops, debates, or problem-solving sessions. Participants will determine the day's offerings in the opening session, and all sessions will be summarized in the closing session. This collaborative  environment presents unique opportunities for learning, sharing, and relationship-building that can be elusive at more formal conferences.

 

Registration

Registration is free and open to all interested librarians, administrators, library staff and students. In order to register, you will first need to set up an account with pbworks.  This will allow you to access the registration form. Please include your name, library name, email contact information, and areas of interest on this form.

Here is an example:

 

Name Library email
I would like to learn about...
Barbara Moon SCLS bmoon@suffolk.lib.ny.us innovations in library service, dealing with disruptive teens, increasing teen involvement, reaching out to the community, working with other library staff & departments

 

Information

 

Facilitators

  • Megan Honig, YA Collection Specialist, New York Public Library
  • Jack Martin, Assistant Director of Young Adult Programs, New York Public Library
  • Chris Shoemaker, Young Adult Specialist, New York Public Library 

 

Attendees

Enter your name and information on the first available line that hasn't been filled in by someone else. You'll need to register at pbworks first in order to be able to edit this page. Click here if you need help editing the wiki.

If you register and then find that you can't come, please remove yourself from the registration list ASAP.

 

  Name Library email
I would like to learn about...
1 Samantha Alberts  SCLS  samantha@suffolk.lib.ny.us  Discover how Adult Services and YA can work together. 
2 Tracy Van Dyne  CNQT  tracyvandyne@gmail.com   
3 Lorraine Squires  MMSH  lorraine.squires@gmail.com  Outreach using technology - the library 24/7, anywhere. 
4 Laurie Ridgway  RML  lridgway@myrml.org  will come back to this 
5 Katherine Welch  NSPL  kwelch@suffolk.lib.ny.us   
6 Danielle Paisley  PML  dpaisley@pmlib.org  Creating a Mission statement for YA departments,  new ways to attract teens to the library
7 Nanette Feder EMSC nanette@emmaclark.org Improving library  teen website
8 Bonnie Mazzaferro  CUTC  bmazzafe@suffolk.lib.ny.us  New resources for collection development;  
9 Laura Panter  MCPL  lidancer12@yahoo.com  Redesigning teen webpage, revamping old programs to attract new teens
10 Mary K Chelton  QC/GSLIS  mchelton@optonline.net  Update on collections, issues, examples Directions to Bay Shore Brightwaters Public LibraryDirections to Bay Shore Brightwaters Public LibraryLunch Suggestions for better teaching 
11 Tom Casper  MMSCL  tcasper74@gmail.com   
12 Nola Thacker  WHAM  nthacker@suffolk.lib.ny.us   
13 Kristine Sabia  MCPL  kristine.sabia@gmail.com  YA readers' advisory 
14 Linda Greenbaum BPL lgreenbaum@nassaulibrary.org

creating a mission statement for YA; being new to YA, to learn about the current

issues and trends of Long Island YA services.

15 Jan Miller  LONG  janmill@suffolk.lib.ny.us  Improving website for teens, increasing community service opportunities for teens
16 Deb  Domingos  BROO  ddomingo@suffolk.lib.ny.us  website technology, electronic dowmloads, interesting program ideas 
17 Jamie Papandrea  BROO  jamiepapandrea@gmail.com  Programs and technology.  Also would like to discover what other libraries are offering in terms of services to YA patrons. 
18        
19 Lisa Goldstein  BPL  l.goldstein@brooklynpubliclibrary.org   
20 Molly Phelan  BPL  m.phelan@brooklynpubliclibrary.org   
21        
22 Nicole Peters  WBPL   nicolepeters25@yahoo.com  YA Programming/ YA reader's Advisory /technology ;) 
23 Sara Fade MCPL fadesara@mcpl.lib.ny.us using web 2.0 for YA outreach & marketing
24 Lauren Bernat MCPL, The Knox School bernatlauren@gmail.com teen resources/information literacy, making the library attractive to teen/student users, resources for educators, programming trends
25 Stacy Creel  St. John's Univ.  creels@stjohns.edu  Open 
26 Sue Sloan NBAB suesloan@aol.com programming, outreach, marketing
27 Deborah Hempe  MCPL  hempedeborah@mcpl.lib.ny.us 

updating/designing teen website, facilitating teen involment in teen website content and  increased usage of teen website 

28 Beth Sullivan  WIPL  basulliv@suffolk.lib.ny.us   
29 Jennifer Fowler  WIPL  jfowler@suffolk.lib.ny.us  working with special needs teenagers 
30 Megan Karaptis  SYPL  karaptis@suffolk.lib.ny.us  programming, marketing and promotion 
31 Margie Hartough HHH mhartoug@suffolk.lib.ny.us marketing databases
32 Andrea  Graham  SCTY  andreag@sctylib.org 

How to visit schools and not sound lame,

incorporating all forms of media and information

into programs and resources.  

33 Catherine LaStella  Hauppauge  clastell@suffolk.lib.ny.us  Um... everything?!!!  School visit tricks, marketing ideas (programs, services and collections), ways to not lose the high school teens, ways to not lose the few high school teens we have once they graduate (programs for late teens and early 20's), blog content ideas to supplement what I do already... anything and everything else...  oh this is going to be fun!!!
34 Joanne Adam   Hauppauge  joadam@suffolk.lib.ny.us  Being more in touch with YA (I'm more used to children's) - outreach to the schools, data-base usage & promotion, cooperative programs with the schools, collection development, defining a specific YA area, ... just interested in hearing what other YA's are doing! Also - How do other YA departments function under the umbrella of the Children's Department?   
35 Michelle Vagner Northport michelle.vagner@gmail.com Programs, technology, outreach for teens and YA's, teen furniture (specifically computer furniture).
36 Samantha Winter Port Jefferson swinter@suffolk.lib.ny.us  Attracting teens and keeping them, marketing, and designing programs for teens that seem to have everything.
37 Kassia Worst  EIPL  kworst@suffolk.lib.ny.us Making the teen portion of our website more appealing.  Get more information about YA blogs.
38 Jen Griffing South Huntington jrgriffi@suffolk.lib.ny.us Using Facebook and our web site to market YA. How to create more Community Service Programs and keep them organized.  How to have teens produce publications for the library (newsletter, creative writing) and get them into electronic form.
39 Candace Reeder  Northport-ENpt  creeder@suffolk.lib.ny.us  col dev and space issue in Teen Centers 
40 Sheila Doherty  SMTH  sdoherty801@gmail.com  How to get more teens to the library & creating a webpage that teens will want, need, and enjoy viewing! 
41 Kerry Piraino  SAYV  kpiraino@gmail.com  ya coll dev., reader's advisory, programming
42

Christina Karaptis 

COMS  CKaraptis@gmail.com  How to create an inviting space for teens within the library -- Outreach 
43 Stefanie Gangone  copg  Sgangone@copiaguelibrary.org  Outreach other than in the schools. readers advisory teen spaces.
44 Joanne Albano  Commack  albano@suffolk.lib.ny.us  programming, working with small teen spaces 
45 Martha Vlasits-Mikkleson  PML  mmikkleson@pmlib.org programming, esp. community service for teens 
46 Sue McManus  SMTK  smcmanu@suffolk.lib.ny.us  How to develope relationships with schools, PFOs,PTAs, Mother's groups, Home schoolers
47 Stella Spyropoulos BPL stellaspyro@yahoo.com Outreaching to schools, getting teens and tweens more involved at the libraries and joining programs
48 Linda Clark  BSBW  lclark@suffolk.lib.ny.us  Collection development; Programming; Teen Advisory Boards; and the list seems endless...
49 Renee McGrath NLS

renee@nassaulibrary.info

 

 
50 Brian Cooper Harboorfields bcoop@suffolk.lib.ny.us
 
51 Andrea Pavlik Huntington  andrea_pavlik@huntlib.org   
52 Marilyn Ames  Quogue  maraqnyc@aol.com  How to attract teens to our library; how to market great programs. 
53        
54        
55        
56        
57        
58        

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.